The American Prospect

An independent voice for liberal thought

The American Prospect is devoted to promoting informed discussion on public policy from a progressive perspective. In print quarterly and online daily, the Prospect brings a narrative, journalistic approach to complex issues, addressing the policy alternatives and the politics necessary to create good legislation. We help to dispel myths, challenge conventional wisdom, and expand the dialogue.

Founded by Robert Kuttner, Paul Starr, and Robert Reich, read the original 1989 prospectus for the magazine.

To learn more about our history, check out this 2015 piece by Starr and Kuttner, reflecting on 25 years of politics and change.

The Prospect is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation headquartered in Washington, D.C.

You can support our mission with a subscription or a tax-deductible donation.

DONATE TODAY

Headquarters

The American Prospect
1225 I Street NW, Suite 600, Washington, D.C. 20005
(202) 776-0730
info@prospect.org

SITE-WIDE RSS FEED

RSS feeds for specific Tags and Authors are found on individual pages, such as Harold Meyerson, or Unions.

Social Media

Follow the Prospect on these channels:

Twitter

Facebook

Instagram

Reddit

LinkedIn

Issuu: PDF Print Magazine Archive

Email Services

SIGN UP FOR NEWSLETTERS

Print Subscription Services

(202) 776-0730

SUBSCRIBE

RENEW

ARRANGE A GIFT

Additional Information

PITCH A STORY IDEA

PERMISSIONS & REPRINTS
Content on this website is under copyright, all rights are reserved. Submit requests for permission to reprint content in magazines, newspapers, books, web sites or other media via the linked form.

WORK AT THE PROSPECT
The American Prospect hosts paid internships, publishes freelance writers, and employs full-time up-and-coming journalists with our renowned writing fellowship. Find current openings at the linked page.

ADVERTISE
The American Prospect offers print and digital advertising, including newsletters and partner emails. For information, please email info@prospect.org or call (202) 776-0730.

Staff Directory

David Dayen, Executive Editor, ddayen@prospect.org

Ellen J. Meany, Publisher, ejmeany@prospect.org

Robert Kuttner, Co-Founder & Co-Editor

Harold Meyerson, Editor-at-Large, hmeyerson@prospect.org

Paul Starr, Co-Founder & Co-Editor

Susanna Beiser, Associate Editor, sbeiser@prospect.org

Marcia Brown, Writing Fellow, mbrown@prospect.org

Brittany Gibson, Writing Fellow, bgibson@prospect.org

Gabrielle Gurley, Deputy Editor, ggurley@prospect.org

Jonathan Guyer, Managing Editor, jguyer@prospect.org

Mary Parsons, Art Director

Alexander Sammon, Staff Writer, asammon@prospect.org

Allison Shely, Business & Communications Assistant, ashely@prospect.org

Stephen Whiteside, Business & Communications Specialist, swhiteside@prospect.org

Interns: Tacy Cresson, Isaac Scher, Claire Wang

Contributing Editors

Marcia Angell, Gabriel Arana, David Bacon, Jamelle Bouie, Heather Boushey, Jonathan Cohn, Ann Crittenden, Garrett Epps, Jeff Faux, Michelle Goldberg, Gershom Gorenberg, E.J. Graff, Bob Herbert, Arlie Hochschild, Christopher Jencks, John B. Judis, Randall Kennedy, Bob Moser, Karen Paget, Sarah Posner, Jedediah Purdy, Robert D. Putnam, Richard Rothstein, Adele M. Stan, Deborah A. Stone, Michael Tomasky, Paul Waldman, Sam Wang, William Julius Wilson, Matthew Yglesias, Julian Zelizer

Board of Directors

Michael Stern (chairperson); Mehrsa Baradaran, Daaiyah Bilal-Threats, Chuck Collins, David Dayen, Shanti Fry, Stanley Greenberg, Jacob Hacker, Amy Hanauer, Derrick Jackson, Robert Kuttner, Ellen J. Meany, Miles Rapoport, Janet Shenk, Adele Simmons, Ganesh Sitaraman, William Spriggs, Paul Starr

Co-Founder

Robert B. Reich

Founding Sponsors

Kenneth J. Arrow, Marian Wright Edelman, Albert O. Hirschman, Charles Lindblom, Fritz Stern, Frank Weil. In Memoriam: Daniel Bell (1919-2011), Kenneth B. Clark (1914-2005), John Kenneth Galbraith (1908-2006), Sidney Harman (1918-2011), Irving Harris (1910-2004), Harry Kahn (1917-1999), Arthur M. Schlesinger Jr. (1917-2007), James Tobin (1918-2002)